Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been reading this forum for a while now and just recently joined. I have limited inshore experience. Maybe caught a couple dozen Red's in my life until recently. I am a fly fisherman at heart and will always pick it up first if weather and conditions allow. I am from Ellisville and put in about a dozen trips over 3 weeks not to long ago, all to Gautier after Redfish. So here is what i experienced.
I started out fishing much the same way I do for bass in moving water with the exception of tidal movement. Both with light tackle and fly. On falling tide I did well with Deep down Clousers and weighted grass shrimp patterns. Also VuDu shrimp in Creole magic and Bass assassin Sea Shad in chicken on a chain. I rigged the sea shad with a weighted 1/0 jerk bait hook (1/8) and cut down on grass snags by 75%. I had my best luck at the mouth of the Bayous on falling tide.
On a rising tide it was game on in the bayous. Most everywhere 2 or more bayous intersected I found fish. I caught far more fish in the slot than not. Not as many specks as I was hoping for but that wasn't my Target. My best numbers day was 9 on the fly and the biggest was 29.5" @ 8lbs 11oz. To put it plain and simple I'm hooked. I work out of town a lot so it will probably be the 24th before I get back on the water. If you see somebody slinging a fly rod in 20mph winds that's probably me! I have a grey Alweld CC, so if some of you guys see me out there feel free to introduce yourself. Would be great to put some faces with the names. Until then I hope the information helps and entertains.

Most common size was around 18"19".

Best trout I caught, she was over by the shipyard.

·
Registered
371 Posts