Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't believe nearly enough light is ever shed on what our game and fish commission is up to but, being that they are supposed to represent all of us who enjoy the Mississippi outdoors, what they do is worth paying attention to.

This is my first time posting on this site and my motivation is to help bring to the attention of my fellow hunters the decisions that are made that impact the wild public resources we all enjoy.

When the game and fish commission met last month, they made what I believe is a critical mistake and changed the procedure for determining if a county should be placed under the CWD management plan. Up until last month, if a CWD positive deer was found within 10 miles of a given county, that county was placed under the CWD management plan protocols which include a supplemental feed ban. I'm not here to offer any opinions about supplemental feeding with the exception of pointing out that supplemental feeding can congregate deer in ways that most often wouldn't naturally occur. This in turn can increase the rate of spread of CWD in a deer herd or introduce CWD to an otherwise healthy deer herd. That is the biologically sound reasoning for including a supplemental feed ban within the CWD management protocol.

The commission decided that instead of using the 10 mile rule for counties that border the MS river, they will now use the Coast Guard demarcation line that maps the center of the river as the boundary that determines if a county is placed under the CWD management plan. If a CWD positive deer is found on the west side of the river, that does not place the nearest MS county under the CWD management plan. If a CWD positive deer is found on the east side of the river, then the original rules apply for placing counties under the plan.